More Real Than Life:
An Exhibition of Contemporary Collage

Curated by Alexander Jarman
Southwestern College Art Gallery

This exhibition will present 11 contemporary artists, from California to France, currently using scissors and glue rather than a mouse and a printer to create works that question our perceptions of common reality and provoke discussion about collage’s increased relevance.
Related Programs:

Public Reception: Thursday, March 8
Artist Talk 6-8 p.m.
Light refreshments provided

Public Reception: Tuesday, March 13
Artist Talk 12 p.m., Reception 11-1
Light refreshments provided

Collage in Context: A Symposium: Thursday, March 22: 11:00-1:00 p.m.
Collage in poetry, Mark Wallace: 11-11:20
Artist Talk, Joshua Tonies: 11:25-11:40
Roundtable Discussion: 11:45-12:15
Q&A with Audience 12:15-12:30

This symposium program will present collage as a strategy both in art and literature, as well as position the practice within a larger context of current analogue approaches in art. The first presentation, from Mark Wallace, will discuss the collage practices of William S. Burroughs and their continued legacy. Wallace is the author of more than fifteen books and chapbooks of poetry, fiction, and essays, and won the 2002 Gertrude Stein Poetry Award for Temporary Worker Rides A Subway. The second presentation will feature artist Joshua Tonies speaking about his own collage work. His contributions to the exhibition highlight some current approaches to utilizing both analog and digital collage within a single work, and how the two differ or complement each other. The last presentation will consist of a roundtable discussion between Michael Trigilio, Alexander Jarman and May-ling Martinez. May-ling Martinez is featured in the exhibition. Besides creating analog collage, she has built outdated or impractical machines from old mechanical engineering manuals as part of her art. Michael Trigilio is a Professor at University of California San Diego and a multi-media artist who has worked extensively with sound. His independent radio project, Neighborhood Public Radio, has been featured at The Museum of Contemporary Art Los Angeles and the 2008 Whitney Biennial.

Exhibiting Artists:

Sadie Barnette http://www.sadiebarnette.com/ Based in San Diego, CA.
Mike Calway-Fagen http://mikecalway-fagen.com/ Based in San Diego, CA.
Troy Dugas http://troydugas.com/ Based in Lafayette, Louisiana.
Lola Dupre http://loladupre.com/ Based in Avignon, France.
Chris Kardambikis http://www.kardambikis.com/ Based in San Diego, CA.
Gordon Magnin http://gordonmagnin.com/ Based in Los Angeles, CA.
Morgan Manduley http://morganmanduley.com/ Based in San Diego, CA.
May-ling Martinez http://www.maylingmartinez.com/index.html Based in San Diego, CA.
Arturo Medrano http://convulsive.tumblr.com/ Based in New York City, NY.
Jason Sherry http://www.jasonsherry.com/ Based in San Diego, CA.
Joshua Tonies http://www.joshtonies.com/ Based in San Diego, CA.

The Southwestern College Art Gallery is located in Rm 710B
900 Otay Lakes Rd, Chula Vista, CA 91910.
Gallery Hours are Monday through Thursday 10:30am-2:00pm,
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm-8:30pm.

Tel. 619-421-6700 x 5568
Fax 619-421-6700 fax 5368

Free parking is available in Lot J on the days of the related events

Collage Symposium flyer design by Perry Vasquez